Tears We Cannot Stop

This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." Short, emotional, literary, powerful—Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

Tears We Cannot Stop

Tears We Cannot Stop

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post • Bustle • Men's Journal • The Chicago Reader • StarTribune • Blavity • The Guardian • NBC New York's Bill's Books • Kirkus • Essence “One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait." —The New York Times Book Review Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as "Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish." Stephen King says: "Here’s a sermon that’s as fierce as it is lucid...If you’re black, you’ll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you’re white, Dyson tells you what you need to know—what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." Short, emotional, literary, powerful—Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read. As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop—a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted. "The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future."

More Books:

Tears We Cannot Stop
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Michael Eric Dyson
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-17 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post • Bustle • Men's Journal • The Chicago Reader • StarTribune • Blavity •
Notes on Michael Eric Dyson's Tears We Cannot Stop by Instaread
Language: en
Pages: 21
Authors: Instaread
Categories: Study Aids
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-15 - Publisher: Instaread

Books about Notes on Michael Eric Dyson's Tears We Cannot Stop by Instaread
Long Time Coming
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Michael Eric Dyson
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-01 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tears We Cannot Stop, a passionate call to America to finally reckon with race and start the journey to redemption. This eBook edition includes nine illustrations of George Floyd, Breona Taylor and Emmett Till, among other victims of racial violence, by artist
Entertaining Race
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Michael Eric Dyson
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-02 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Entertaining Race is the latest book from Michael Eric Dyson, the New York Times bestselling author of Tears We Cannot Stop...
JAY-Z
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Michael Eric Dyson
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-26 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY BESTSELLER "Dyson writes with the affection of a fan but the rigor of an academic. ... Using extensive passages from Jay-Z’s lyrics, 'Made in America' examines the rapper’s role as a poet, an aesthete, an advocate for racial justice and

Popular All Time

Freed
Return to Virgin River
The Unhoneymooners
Viken Command
It Ends with Us
Vince's Chance
Almost Just Friends
Grey
Ruthless Wars
The Chateau of Happily-Ever-Afters
The Crown of Gilded Bones
Man Down (A Rookie Rebels Novel)
A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
Crossing The Line
It's Complicated
Awk-weird
Bed of Flowers
The Sea Glass Cottage

Recent Books: