The Boys in the Boat

Rowing.

The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others - and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures instead the purest essence of what it means to be alive. 'The Boys in the Boat is not only a great and inspiring true story; it is a fascinating work of history' Nathaniel Philbrick, author of In the Heart of the Sea 'I really can't rave enough about this book . . . I read the last fifty pages with white knuckles, and the last twenty-five with tears in my eyes' David Laskin, author of The Children's Blizzard and The Long Way Home 'A thrilling, heart-thumping tale of a most remarkable band of rowing brothers' Timothy Egan, author of The Worst Hard Time

More Books:

The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 404
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher: Penguin

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint.
Study Guide: the Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown (SuperSummary)
Language: en
Pages: 41
Authors: SuperSummary
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-30 - Publisher:

SuperSummary, a modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, offers high-quality study guides for challenging works of literature. This 42-page guide for "The Boys in the Boat" by Daniel James Brown includes detailed chapter summaries and analysis covering 19 chapters, as well as several more in-depth sections of expert-written literary analysis.
Summary of the Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics: Trivia/Quiz
Language: en
Pages: 98
Authors: Whizbooks
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-13 - Publisher: Blurb

Summary of The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown: Trivia/Quiz for Fans Features You'll Discover Inside: - A comprehensive guide to aid in discussion and discovery - 30 multiple choice questions on the book, plots,
The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-04 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true

Popular All Time

Sandcastle
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 23
Jujutsu Kaisen, Vol. 11
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 3
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 2
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 4
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 6
Tokyo Revengers Volume 2
Tokyo Revengers Volume 9
Don't Toy With Me, Miss Nagatoro Volume 2
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 5
Sweat and Soap Volume 3
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 9
BEASTARS, Vol. 13
Tokyo Revengers Volume 6
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 1
Tokyo Revengers Volume 3
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 15

Recent Books: